The Treaties

The following sections will focus on the major treaties of the European Communities and the European Union, explaining the context of each treaty and the main changes to the European project they brought about.

We will look at the following treaties:

  • European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC)
  • European Economic Community and Euratom (Treaties of Rome)
  • Single European Act (SEA)
  • Treaty of Maastricht (Treaty on European Union)
  • Lisbon Treaty